periwebblog

Adventures in E-Learning and Digital Culture

FINAL ARTIFACT – EXPLORING PERSONAL LEARNING NETWORKS #xplrpln November 7, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — essgarland @ 12:00 am
Tags:

My response to the CEO’s desire to bring PLN’s into the organisation. A little short on writing (because over the course of the MOOC I have written tens of thousands of words for Uni and still am! and I need to be creative now).  Fun  putting together and I persevered even though time pressed because thought this viewpoint needed to be added to the mix.

Thank you everyone who participated and discussed and debated and challenged me in #xplrpln and  especially to  Jeff Merrell, Kimberly Scott and Keely Sorokti for giving me the opportunity to learn more.

Sit back and enjoy.

Ess 🙂

 

22 Responses to “FINAL ARTIFACT – EXPLORING PERSONAL LEARNING NETWORKS #xplrpln”

  1. Maureen. Says:

    Brilliant! I am in agreement with your solution. I thought that maybe having the organization be supportive and the individual earn a PLN badge might be a way of keeping both sides happy. What do you think?

    • essgarland Says:

      Thank you Maureen.:) … I think my strategy would be to keep the organisation out of PLN if possible but their support in running the course would be great and a badge may be an extrinsic reward for those that need it?

    • tanyalau Says:

      Hey Maureen, I see what you’re getting at although I think you’ve got to tread carefully with badges (and any other type of gamification device) – because often (as Ess mentions), it’s can just act as an extrinsic motivator. The problem with this is that if someone’s just doing it to earn the badge then it can damage or minimise their intrinsic motivation for the task itself. Which can be bad news for PLNs, which relies almost exclusively on intrinsic motivation to sustain them.

      The other issue with extrinsic motivators is that they are often short lived, and don’t sustain long term behaviour change – e.g. what happens after the person has earned their badge? Will they be motivated to keep on developing and sustaining their PLN, or will they need another carrot to keep going?

  2. […] My response to the CEO's desire to bring PLN's into the organisation. A little short on writing (because over the course of the MOOC I have written tens of thousands of words for Uni and still am! …  […]

  3. Jeff Merrell Says:

    Diabolical works. 🙂

    I am struck by how much we all seem to see some deeper issues here – of the desire to maintain something of the “personal” that never gets vacuumed up by the organization. Really well articulated here. So glad that you could be a part of this!

    • essgarland Says:

      Thanks Jeff. It’s been great to be part of this, thank you for the opportunity. My stand now is very different to what I thought I would write at the beginning of the MOOC thanks to discussion & reading etc. That’s not to say I wouldn’t support another virtual work forum.. just not MY PLN.

  4. Mitra Emad Says:

    What a great solution! And I totally sat back and enjoyed! Curious what the classes would look like? Is this something we could do with college students, do you think? Then when they get into organizations, they will be ready to leverage PLN into specific projects.

    • essgarland Says:

      Thanks Mitra. I hadn’t even thought of college students with PLN’s but it is an excellent idea. They’d be very savvy at networking by the time they got to work. I still like the idea of keeping work out of my PLN but perhaps having a more dedicated work virtual space or network instead?

  5. Sorokti Says:

    Wonderful – Halloween theme is perfect for October/November timing of the class. Need to find out more about this tool you used to create this artifact. Kudos for finishing (I can’t say the same!).

  6. shalineemattoo Says:

    Really cool. I agree with empowerent message. I also like how you would want to create awareness about PLNs. I personally think organization’s role is to uncover the hidden nodes. Then people will seek, share and sense.

    P.S. Need to checkout this tool.

    • essgarland Says:

      Thank you 🙂 I tell a lot of people about PLN’s but not all are interested in giving it a go. Interesting what you say about organization’s role to uncover the hidden nodes – can you say a bit more about that???

      • shalineemattoo Says:

        Uncovering the hidden nodes means, exposing the experts in the network. It can be done in many ways. The basic idea is PLNs exist in organizations, but they are always build efficiently. If I have to ask a question or get a comment on something maybe as an employee I would first ask the colleague sitting next to me or someone I assume may know an answer. It may take me weeks to get to the real expert answer. It will happen, but will not happen efficiently.

        Instead if organization becomes this “broker” in the network through technological platforms, through seminars or other live activities where people get to know each other, get to know each other’s best competencies, then nodes can connect directly and quickly.

        PLN will always be personal, networking will always be intentional, but organization can just help nurture them by letting people understand the a available resources in the network ( in this case human resources)

  7. tanyalau Says:

    Ess!! LOVE x 1000!!! Excellently awesome, really loved it a lot. Great concept, excellent execution, and brilliantly communicated. Plus a little humour and cheekiness never goes astray. (Love the black cat!) In terms of message what I liked most was that it really focused on the very issue that I’ve been struggling with – how (and whether it is even possible?) to retain the “personal” of PLNs once it enters the domain of the organisation – especially when it is the CEO who wants to (somehow) leverage them for org advantage.
    I think your recommendation for supporting people to build and sustain a “PLN for PD for those who want to” is key to possibly making it work: providing some org support, but ultimately leaving the choice up to the individual whether they want to, who to connect with and how.

    In the back of my mind though, once it’s the CEO asking for it, I still can’t shake the feeling of impending danger that it will be just too hard for them NOT to try to push it out as a top down thing and try to just “get everyone on it”. Perhaps what might happen is that once enough people start getting onto PLNs (of their own accord), it will just reach a critical mass where it just becomes a given, an unspoken expectation that everyone will have one that they sustain on an ongoing basis. It’s just about starting to happen with social networks like facebook and LinkedIn.

    Anyway, also just wanted to say thank you very much for the twitter conversations, I have very much enjoyed them. They have been extremely thought provoking, and best of all, spontaneous & serendipitous! Look forward to staying in touch : )

    • tanyalau Says:

      I’ve been meaning to check out powtoon for ages too…! This might just tip me over the edge and motivate me to do so….
      BTW, for those interested in powtoon (the tool Ess used to create the piece of brilliance above), Cathy Moore has a review of it on her site that you might find useful (which is where I originally discovered it…http://blog.cathy-moore.com/2013/07/how-humor-helps-powtoon-review/)

      Of course, it pays to remember that a tool is still just a tool – to create awesomeness like this still requires a good concept, structure and writing!

      • essgarland Says:

        I’ve used Powtoons a few times and it is free and very easy to use to make a point – just looked at Cathy’s blog (think I’ll twitter it -she is so great).- also love that you can send it to you tube for those virtual spaces that won’t embed 🙂

    • essgarland Says:

      Thank you for your encouragement!!! I nearly twittered you to see if I could stick your tree as part of my argument to CEO. I agree with you, even the organisation run course was a bit of a concession for me – it would still be difficult to keep work from looking at PLN as a direct resource to utilise although Kay’s artifact might have done the trick 😉 and thank you so much for the dialogue – it’s been wonderful to have you to bounce ideas off in between the twitter chats and during them!! Take care and stay in touch Ess

  8. shalineemattoo Says:

    Uncovering the hidden nodes means, exposing the experts in the network. It can be done in many ways. The basic idea is PLNs exist in organizations, but they are always build efficiently. If I have to ask a question or get a comment on something maybe as an employee I would first ask the colleague sitting next to me or someone I assume may know an answer. It may take me weeks to get to the real expert answer. It will happen, but will not happen efficiently.

    Instead if organization becomes this “broker” in the network through technological platforms, through seminars or other live activities where people get to know each other, get to know each other’s best competencies, then nodes can connect directly and quickly.

    PLN will always be personal, networking will always be intentional, but organization can just help nurture them by letting people understand the a available resources in the network ( in this case human resources).

    • essgarland Says:

      Interesting. I have never heard of hidden nodes before – I wonder if intuitively we find these hidden nodes in our own PLN’s as well? I am not adverse to an indirect connection to the organisation but pragmatically wonder if they could keep from pushing PLN’s to best serve their purposes. To that effect (and I haven’t really thought this through) I wonder if for me a OLN (still networking in and out of organisation) separate from my PLN would be the answer if work insisted on us having that Learning Connection? Anyway the cMOOC has been wonderful hasn’t it! Learnt so much from it and thought about things I wouldn’t have!

      • tanyalau Says:

        I’ve considered this too – and definitely, I think all organisations should have an “OLN” – which I take largely to mean some sort of enterprise social network (ESN). If it’s an ESN though, it’s pretty much going to be exclusively internal due to the corporate firewall. So – not sure how you’d have external connections via the company’s ESN…? Obviously people would still have external f2f connections but that’s pretty much how it works now.
        And so if this is the case, your external connections would pretty much be your own PLN > back to square one!
        But…perhaps I’m reading this concept incorrectly….?

  9. shalineemattoo Says:

    Sorry for the typos…I meant currently PLNs are **not** always build efficiently.

  10. […] with legislative powers and entrenched institutional structures. This final seminar artifact by  https://periwebblog.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/final-artifact-exploring-personal-learning-networks-xpl… exemplifies the desire to maintain the ‘personal’ within a personal learning […]


Leave a Reply

